Quinoa Peanut Butter and Choc Chip Cookies

12 Feb

Sometimes you just want to eat cookies.

And these little beauties are cookies you can feel good about.

Note : although it seems a little un-australian I prefer the word cookie over calling them biscuits. Calling them cookies reminds me of the cookie monster.

And what’s not to love about him? He’s adorable!

I adapted this recipe from the Shape – 10 healthy cookie recipes list.

These treats are  super healthy, yummy and really easy to make.

Organic versions of the ingredients were available  at my local health food store which was nice too; given my recent venture into healthier eating.

I increased the yum factor ever so slightly by adding in some dark chocolate to compliment the cacoa nibbs.

Ingredients:

1 cup of quinoa cooked and cooled (which will then equal 2 cups)

1/2 cup of natural salted peanut butter

1/3 cup of raw honey

1 cup of rolled oats

1/2 a cup of dried, unsweetened, shredded coconut

1/2 a cup of raw cacao nibs

8 squares of dark cooking chocolate – finely chopped

Directions: Preheat oven to 170 degrees. Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl.

 Line a tray with baking paper. Flatten tablespoons of the mixture onto the baking paper and bake for approximately one hour.

Makes 24 cookies

17 Responses to “Quinoa Peanut Butter and Choc Chip Cookies”

  1. honeywhatscooking February 13, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

    how funny.. i made something similar, made peanut butter cookie dough truffles, i’ll be posting soon. these look so good, I would never thought of baking with quinoa.
    Hope those pancakes turned out okay for brinner. 🙂

    • kazualkreative February 13, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

      Yes first time I’ve baked with Quinoa and was pleasantly surprised with how well it bakes. The pancakes turned out great.Fantasic recipe – thanks so much! 🙂 Looking forward to seeing your peanut butter cookie dough truffles – they sound devine!

  2. nonamesnopackdrill February 16, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    I used to make cookies a bit but I haven’t in ages… you’ve inspired me to get onto making some soon 🙂

  3. LostGarden February 19, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    These look yummy, and gluten free too!
    I hadn’t thought to bake with cooked quinoa, I think I’ll have to try it out!

    • kazualkreative February 19, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

      Oh thanks for that – I have to admit although I’ve gotten right into organic food recently I still don’t know much about gluten. I hope you like them as much I did 🙂

    • kazualkreative February 19, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

      Oh and I’ve found that they don’t freeze too badly either – if you’re like me and don’t eat cookies all that often.

  4. dinutrition February 20, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    Wow, those look awesome!

    • kazualkreative February 20, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

      Thanks so much! I loved your food spotlight on Quinoa – and your Chia recipe has given me some inspiration too. I’ve never used Chia seeds, I’m looking forward to trying them.

      • dinutrition February 20, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

        Thank you! I just discovered chia seeds about a year ago. If you like tapioca-like textures, then you will like them.

  5. dinutrition February 20, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    I put a link to your recipe in my quinoa spotlight: http://dinutrition.com/2012/02/19/food-spotlight-quinoa/

  6. dinutrition March 2, 2012 at 3:58 am #

    I made these yesterday. Delicious!

  7. dinutrition March 19, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    I thought I would let you know that I make these all the time now and everyone loves them. Thanks for the recipe!

    • kazualkreative March 19, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

      Oh thanks for letting me know – I’m very glad to hear that! I must make them again myself. I’d frozen a few to have later and they’ve almost run out now 🙂

  8. Zen and Genki June 20, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    I am seriously, ridiculously excited about these cookies! Kids are egg and nut allergic (I sub-out peanut butter for soy “freenut” butter in recipes) and this recipe looks divine. Thanks!
    anne

    • kazualkreative June 20, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

      Oh that’s great! I just discovered the other day these cookies actually taste really nice when they are microwaved and eaten with icecream too! I had some frozen and defrosted them for too long :0) I hope you and your kids enjoy them as much as I do :0)

Leave a Reply

