Lemon Cordial – Made by Mavis

31 Aug

I set out to write a post about Leonard – our Lemon Tree. I’ve been feeling a bit neglectful lately. We get a so much fruit from our beautiful Meyer Lemon tree each year. Sadly the majority seems to go to waste.

Cooking,Cleaning, Cleansing – Lemon does it all.  I wanted to demonstrate all the ways I could get the most out of this fruit of many talents.

But instead I found myself just making batches of Lemon cordial and thinking a lot about someone very dear to me.

Mavis and Jeff

My Grandparents - Mavis and Jeff

Mavis is my paternal grandmother but she’s always been much more than just that.

My Gran was in her 50’s when she found herself looking after my little sister and I nearly full-time.  It’s only now that I can appreciate how much work that must have been for her.  (Spending time with my friend’s children has shown me how amazing and yet totally exhausting it is to look after the youngsters!)

She taught me how to make a bed properly (including hospital corners), and how to recite my name, address and phone number to someone if ever I found myself lost. She taught me the importance of good manners. She made jelly cakes, helped me with my homework and passed on to me her love of Shetland Sheepdogs.

She made lemon cordial – sour but sweet, yummy lemon cordial.

It wasn’t all cupcakes and lemon drops – (though bless her she did always have lemon sherbies in the pantry) My Gran took great pride in telling people that she didn’t spoil her grandkids! A strict but loving Gran – I will be forever grateful to her for taking such good care of us.

My Gran turned 83 this week.  In recent years she has learnt to email, text and use a digital camera. Perhaps looking after her grandkids helped in some way to keep her young!  I hope so, after all she did for us it would be the least we could do!

 

Happy Birthday Gran –Thanks so much for everything xo

Lemon Cordial (Made by Mavis)

Ingredients

  • Juice of 7 Lemons
  • Zested rind of 3 Lemons
  • 4 pounds Sugar
  • 2 ounces Citric Acid
  • 1 ounce Titaric Acid
  • 1 ounce Epsom Salts
  • 3 pints boiling water
  • M&M’s not actually required – but jeez they were nice!

Makes approimately 3 litres of cordial concentrate.

Method

  • Juice the 7 lemons

  • Zest the rind of 3 lemons

  • Combine the lemon juice, zested lemon rind, citric acid, tartaric acid and epsom salts in a large saucepan
  • Add the sugar

  • Add the boiling water and stir until disolved
  • Have a little rest while the mixture cools

  • Once cooled, the mixture can be funneled into bottles and stored in the pantry

Tip –  there’s two types of people in this world – those that like the bits and those that don’t.  If you’re one of those people that doesn’t I suggest sieving the liquid at this point to remove any pulp. For the record – I think the lemony bits make the drink!

  • Add 1 part cordial to 4 parts water when mixing the lemon cordial to drink. For a fizzy change mix with mineral water – so refreshing!

One Response to “Lemon Cordial – Made by Mavis”

  1. Hedley September 12, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    Great to find another lemon lover. Too many lemons go to waste I believe! Thanks for your recipe.

Leave a Reply

